Who We Are

Get to know our leadership team.

Steve Oldham

Chief Executive Officer

Steve leads Captura as a prominent entrepreneur and advocate in the carbon removal industry. He joins Captura after his former role as CEO at Direct Air Capture company Carbon Engineering.

CX Xiang

Chief Technology Officer & Co-Founder

CX is a Research Professor of Applied Physics & Materials Science at Caltech, where the proprietary membrane technology used by Captura was developed. He is also the lead researcher at several ARPA-E studies. He co-founded Captura together with Harry.

Harry Atwater

Chief Science Officer & Co-Founder

Harry is a Professor of Applied Physics & Materials Science at Caltech. He is an experienced technology entrepreneur and a long-time pioneer in photovoltaics. Harry is Director of the DOE Energy Innovation Hub and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering. He co-founded Captura together with CX.

Christene Banda

Chief Operating Officer

Christene oversees Captura operations ensuring an inclusive team, a scalable business strategy and a unified vision. She has over 15 years of operations experience, most recently as President of a global product business. 

Vladislav Sakharov 

VP of Engineering

Vlad directs cross-functional and multidisciplinary teams for major new technology introduction, new product development, commercialization and technology transfer programs for scaling and large scale deployment of the Captura technology. He is an engineering/technology leader with experience that includes multiple management positions (GE, Wabtec, Volvo Group) and large scale international cooperations (CERN, ITER).